How to get current_page.parent.path from traversal (breadcrumbs)

I’m trying to create a breadcrumb that will link to the parent index page. After searching, it seems that

(edit: 4 spaces so this would show up and have code styling. need text here or edit will not save…)

<%= current_page.parent.path %>

may get me what I want from the traversal extension. I would like this to return the parent link and parent title if possible.

It seems like the traversal extension may depend on sitemap, so I tried putting this in my config.rb

activate :sitemap
activate :traversal

but that didn’t work.

I have a partial example of what I want by placing the following code in my layout.erb file

<ul class="breadcrumb">
<li><%= link_to 'Home', '/' %></li><span> ></span>
<li><%= link_to 'Back', 'index.html' %></li>
</ul>

But this doesn’t help with the parent pages title.

Unfortunately I’m new to middleman and ruby and cant figure how to implement this for my site.

My setup

• Windows 8 x64
  • Ruby 1.9.3 latest
  • Middleman 3.2.2
  • Basic middleman implementation with a custom template defined by a source folder and config.rb file

Try <%= current_page.parent.data.title %>

1 Like

Thank you for that. It now works! Here is how I modified my example case from above:

<ul class="breadcrumb">
<li><%= link_to 'Home', '/' %></li><span> ></span>
<% if current_page.parent %>
<li><%= link_to current_page.parent.data.title, current_page.parent %></li>
<% end %>
</ul>

You need the if condition if the code will be passed into the index file template. It will cause an error building the index file if you don’t include it.

1 Like

I must modify my advice.

Instead of accessing the title through data you are better of using metadata, like this

current_page.parent.metadata[:page]['title']